Links

Hello, I'm Ali

Printmaker, surface pattern designer, and educator. 

 

I create hand-carved blocks, block printed repeat patterns, love playing and combining patterns, and make imaginary fishes come to life. 

 

In my classes, I help my students get started with block printing and confident with block-printed repeat patterns. I use my block prints as a basis for surface pattern design, and screenprint them on textiles and other materials. 

3 Dotted Penguins Ali printmaker surfacedesigner blockprinting studio

Welcome to 2023: The Repeat Pattern Deep Dive Series is coming back in a new format

Do you want to start 2023 block printing with me? Dive deep into the world of block printed repeat patterns. Learn about different designs and standard tessellating shapes, and also improve your block printing skills along the way. Learn how to combine your blocks and how to add new blocks and make your own tessellating shapes. Show your work and learn not only from me but from the entire group of participants. 

More details coming soon! Join the waitlist to get updates:

We respect your privacy. By submitting your email address you agree to receive emails with news, tips & resources, and special offers in the future. Unsubscribe at any time.

Upcoming workshops

Intro to Block Printing

Friday, September 9, 6 pm CEST/Europe – in German/auf Deutsch

Saturday, September 10, 9 am CEST/Europe (5 pm AEST/Australia) – in English

Saturday, September 10, 6 pm CEST/Europe  (12 pm EDT/USA) – in English – SOLD OUT

 

Intro to Repeat Patterns

Friday, September 30, 6 pm CEST/Europe – in German/auf Deutsch

Sunday, October 2, 6 pm CEST/Europe (12 pm EDT/USA) – in English

 

Repeat Patterns Deep Dive 1

Saturdays, September 17, 24 & October 1, 9 am CEST/Europe (5 pm AEST/Australia) – in English

Saturdays, September 17, 24 & October 1, 7 pm CEST/Europe (1 pm EDT/USA) – in English

 

Repeat Patterns Deep Dive 2

Sundays, September 11, 18 & 25, 9 am CEST/Europe (5 pm AEST/Australia) – in English

Sundays, September 11, 18 & 25, 7 pm CEST/Europe (1 pm EDT/USA) – in English

Thursday, September 15, 22 & 29, 7 pm CEST/Europe – in German/auf Deutsch

 

Block Printed Cards & Gift Wrap

Saturday, October 29, 9 am CEST/Europe (6 pm AEDT/Australia) – in English

Saturday, October 29, 6 pm CEST/Europe (12 pm EDT/USA) – in English

 

Nautical & Sealife Block Prints

currently, no planned workshop dates

 

These are the last workshops of 2022. Join my email list to be notified about further classes in 2023

3 dotted penguins Ali Baecker block printing

Get my block printing supplies guide

    We respect your privacy. By submitting your email address you agree to receive emails with news, tips & resources, and special offers in the future. Unsubscribe at any time.